Log in

Independent Writers
of Chicago

Log in

Officers and Board

IWOC is administered and managed by members who give back to their community of fellow independent writers through voluntary service. Some serve on the board, guiding the decision-making process; others participate in IWOC committee work, helping to ensure that our meeting programs are informative, our members are kept up-to-date on the latest IWOC news and tips, and that IWOC is well-served for marketing and public relations.

All IWOC members in good standing are eligible to serve on the board or any committee. And doing so not only helps the organization, it serves as a good way to network with other members and form connections that can lead to work. (Committee work also earns the volunteer member extra profile listings for the Find a Writer directory.)

Board Members (2019-20)

Laura Stigler, President

George Becht, Vice President

Brent Brotine, Treasurer

Tonia Humphrey, Secretary
Tom Lanning, Parliamentarian

Jeff Steele

Cindy Bertram

Michael Karis


Jeff Steele  (Chair), Laura Stigler

Jeff Steele (Co-chair), Betsy Storm (Co-chair), Jay SchwartzLaura Stigler

Public Relations:
Laura Stigler 

Social Media:
Laura Stigler 

Stet Newsletter:
Sarah Louise Klose (Editor)

Roger Rueff (Webmaster), Laura Stigler (Web Lieutenant)

Past Presidents

David Steinkraus 2014-2016
Jim Kepler 2013-2014
David Epstein 2011-2013
Roger Rueff 2007-2011
Harry Karabel 2004-2007
Jim Leman 2003-2004
Christina Foster 2002-2003
Brent Brotine 2000-2002
Jennifer S. Oatfield 1999-2000
Esther Manewith 1997-99
James A. Kepler 1996-97
Rhea Dawson 1996-97
Tom Germuska 1995-96
Maija Balagot 1994-95
Richard Greb 1993-94
Joen Kinnan 1992-93
Collin Canright 1991-92
Jane Ranshaw 1990-91
Robert H. Elliott 1989-90
Mary Ann Porucznik 1988-89
J.D. Schultz 1987-88
Sally Chapralis 1986-87
James A. Kepler 1985-86
Edward Zotti 1984-85
Jack Hafferkamp 1983-84
Beth Bradfish 1982-83
Jim Ardito 1981-82


Beth Bradfish
Catherine Rategan

IWOCorp, Inc. Past Presidents

Vicki Gerson 1992-93
El Hoeffer 1991-92
Stuart Bloom 1990-91
Fiora F. Scaffi 1988-90
Edward Zotti 1987-88

Copyright 2011–2024, Independent Writers of Chicago
332 S. Michigan Avenue, #121–W686
Chicago, IL 60604-4434

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software